top of page

Nature Scavenger Hunt

Updated: Apr 17, 2020

Getting a little bored sitting at home, inside all day? Finished baking everything you can think of? Yep.. Same. Not only do we have to stay inside because of obvious reasons. But, in NSW it's school holidays as well.


Kids are not getting sent learning that can be done throughout the day and a simple trip to the park is something 'illegal' at the moment. I don't know about you, but I feel I am running out of options of fun things to do to keep myself entertained.


Luckily, there are a few things we CAN still do! This nature scavenger hunt is one of them. I do these with my students at school at different times of the year. I set a classroom Scavenger Hunt at the start of the year to help my students familiarise themselves with their new space. This is a super fun way to get to know my students too! I also create scavenger hunts throughout the year that are outside because outside teaching and learning is my FAVOURITE! There is nothing better than going outside the classroom, getting some fresh air and discovering new things around our school. We especially love the little creatures in the vegetable garden!


I have created a special Nature Scavenger Hunt that you can do with your kids at home. This can be done in your backyard or when you go for a walk. Scavenger hunts are a perfect way to get outdoors, communicate ideas and discover what's around us! Click the 'Download Now' button at the bottom of this page to get your FREE Scavenger Hunt.



I have include images with the words so your little ones can easily identify what's next on their list. Don't be fooled though, your older kids will also LOVE this Nature Scavenger Hunt. The competitive side of them will come out and they will want to find everything on the list.


Another interesting activity I like to do, along with this hunt, is to ask my students to pick one thing they have found off the list and spend time drawing it. It's really interesting watching them include such fine details in their drawings because they can physically pick it up or see it in front of them.


When you use this printable I would LOVE to see how your kids did by tagging me in photo's on instagram with my handle @theessentialsofplay. I can't wait to see what amazing things you and your children find around your houses and suburbs!


Enjoy your Scavenger Hunt,

Megan x


25 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page